Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item:
Title: Octahedral iridium clusters: synthesis, electrochemical mechanisms of formation, and solid-state structures of [Ir-6(CO)(14)(mu-TePh)](-) and [Ir-6(CO)(13)(mu-TePh)(2)]
Authors: Della Pergola, R.
Ceriotti, A.
Cinquantini, Arnaldo
Fabrizi De Biani, Fabrizia 
Garlaschelli, L.
Manassero, M.
Piacentini, R.
Sansoni, M.
Zanello, Piero
Issue Date: 1998
Project: None 
The diphenyl ditelluride PhTeTePh reacts with [Ir6(CO)15]2- (in refluxing tetrahydrofuran) or Ir6(CO)16 (in toluene) yielding [Ir6(CO)14(μ-TePh)]- or [Ir6(CO)13(μ-TePh)2], respectively. Analogous mono- and disubstituted iridium compounds were prepared with other diaryl disulfides or diselenides. Electrochemical experiments confirm the different reactivity of PhTeTePh and PhSSPh showing that the ditelluride adds to the electrogenerated transient radical [Ir6(CO)15]-• and the disulfide to [Ir6(CO)15]0. The two clusters consists of octahedra of iridium atoms with one or two edges bridged by phenyltellurolate ligands. The Ir−Ir bonds trans to the TePh unit are remarkably short.
ISSN: 0276-7333
DOI: 10.1021/om970621+
Appears in Collections:Publications

Show full item record

Google ScholarTM



Items in DSpace are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.